Late Fees on Many Loans Over $10 are Often Illegal in Wisconsin
Do you have a car loan? How about a payday loan or title loan? Were you ever late making a payment? If so, you probably received a late fee (aka a delinquency charge).
If that late fee was greater than $10, then your lender may be violating Wisconsin law.
Wisconsin Consumer Credit Transactions Defined
The Wisconsin Consumer Act (Wis. Stat. § 421 through 429) defines the rules for consumer credit transactions made in Wisconsin. A “consumer credit transaction” is:
- a loan, lease or sale,
- made primarily for a personal, family or household purpose (i.e. not for business purposes),
- payable in installments OR where a finance charge is or may be assessed.
- Lastly, the amount financed must be less than $25,000.
Common types of consumer credit transactions include most car loans, other title loans, and cash advance or payday loans.
Late Fees on Consumer Credit Transactions
If you have a car loan or another consumer credit transaction that meets the requirements above, Wisconsin lenders cannot charge you late fees greater than $10.
Wis. Stat. § 422.203 defines the maximum charge for a delinquency charge or late fee:
With respect to a consumer credit transaction other than one pursuant to an open-end credit plan, the parties may agree to a delinquency charge on any installment not paid in full on or before the 10th day after its scheduled or deferred due date in an amount not to exceed $10 or 5 percent of the unpaid amount of the installment, whichever is less.
What does this mean for those who have Wisconsin payday loans, title loans or similar debts?
- First, late fees on applicable consumer credit transactions cannot be greater than $10.
- Second, lenders cannot charge a late fee until the 11th day the payment is late.
- Third, this rule does not apply to “open-end” credit plans such as credit cards, overdraft privileges on checking accounts, and home equity lines.
Call us at 608-257-0040 today for a free consultation if you believe your lender may be violating Wisconsin loan laws. After our intake team gets your basic information, we’ll schedule a phone call or in-person meeting during which one of our consumer protection attorneys will listen to your story and help you determine if you have a strong legal case.
Latest posts by Nicholas Fairweather (see all)
- Late Fees Over $10 Are Illegal for Car & Payday Loans in WI - January 11, 2019
- Unemployment Assistance Available for Wisconsin Flood Victims - November 8, 2018
- Car Repossession & Your Rights Under Wisconsin Law - June 1, 2018